Kerala Conference of Major Superiors (KCMS)

CRI Kerala Zone

  • President KCMS

    Rev. Dr Francis Kodiyan MCBS

  • Secretary KCMS

    Sr Rosina CMC

  • Vice President

    Sr Smitha SD

  • Treasurer

    Bro Savio Olakengil MMB

  • Councillor

    Fr George Purmadathil CFIC

    Fr George Purmadathil CFIC

  • Councillor

    Sr Ramya SIC

    Sr Ramya SIC

  • Councillor

    Rev Dr Mathai Kadvil OIC

  • Councillor

    Sr Fabi Joseph SCC

  • Recent Posts

Chairman of the Commission

The Most Rev. Dr. Francis Kallarackal – The Metropolitan Archbishop of Verapoly

The appointment of Most Rev. Dr. Francis Kallarackal as the Metropolitan Archbishop of Verapoly by His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI was made known on February 20, 2010 at 4. 30 pm Indian Standard Time in the Archdiocese of Verapoly, in the diocese of Kottapuram as well as in Rome. He assumed the office through the ceremony of installation on April 11, 2010.

Born to Kallarackal Ouso and Brigitte of Kottapuram on October 10, 1941, he joined the St. Joseph’s Minor Seminary in 1956.

After completing pre-degree course from St. Albert’s College, Ernakulam, he entered St. Joseph’s Pontifical Seminary, Carmelgiri, Aluva, for pursuing studies in philosophy. He completed his theology course from Propaganda  College, Rome and was ordained priest on June 29, 1968. He holds a Licentiate in Sacred Theology from Pontifical Urbaniana University, Rome and post graduation in Social Psychology from  Fairfiled University, USA. When he returned from abroad in 1970, he was appointed secretary to the then Archbishop Joseph Kelanthara.

From 1978 to 1986, he served as the social action director of the Archdiocese. He was then appointed the adminstrator of St. John’s Medical College, Bangalore, which is established and managed by the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of India. In 1987, as the Diocese of Kottapuram was created through the bifurcation of the Archdiocese of Verapoly, he became the first bishop of Kottapuram.

Archbishop Dr. Kallarackal presently serves as vice-chairman of the Media Commission of the Kerala Catholic Bishops’ Council, chairman of the Carmelgiri Pontifical Seminary Episcopal Commission and the Church’s publication “Jeevanadam”and  the Chairman of the Joint Commission of KCBC and KCMS.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: